2017’s One Little Word

Hey yall! This year, I decided to participate in Ali Edward’s One Little Word. Every January, Ali has chosen one little word to focus and reflect on for the year. One little word to be a compass. One little word to give all the power to. It’s an amazing idea that seems so simple, yet so refreshing. I have expressed on my Instagram that I am a lover of words. Words help mold us and break us down all the same. Words can inspire people. Make them feel BIG and invincible. Well, I want to be inspired. I want to feel BIG and invincible. Don’t you?

I took A LOT of time looking for a word. I read books, I googled, I tumblred (is that a thing???) and finally, I waited. After searching and searching for this magical word, this word that would save my soul for all of 2017, I was exhausted. I wanted my word to come to me. It didn’t. Then in crept the doubt… Why was I going through all this trouble? Is this little word really worth it? Would I really be able to focus on just one word? Ugh.

Then this…

I was sitting on my porch as my son was playing. He was talking a mile a minute about who would win between Darth Vader and John Cena. (Vader, duh!) Randomly, he asked me if I was still looking for my word. I told him I was waiting for it, I was no longer looking. He replied, like nothing, “I just hope you find something that makes you HAPPY“.

HAPPY.

I had been brainstorming for what seemed like FOREVER and all I kept thinking was, I need a word that will make me HAPPY. But HAPPY couldn’t be my word, right? It’s too simple. Too obvious. Who needs to focus on being HAPPY? You just should be.

Well, 2016 was hard. Unbelievably hard. My strength was tested. Emotionally, physically, mentally. I had to fight and purge and cry. A lot. I had the worst year with my anxiety. I can’t tell you how many times I felt defeated and beaten down. The worst part of anxiety is it isn’t a visible illness. People standing next to you are unable to see that your soul is suffering. That your mind is constantly sabotaging your life and it’s your mind, so how could you not listen, right? It almost killed me this year. About 27 times.

This year, I just want to be HAPPY. I just want to LIVE and smile and laugh. I deserve that. We all deserve that. So HAPPY it is. HAPPY is my one little word. My compass. It will be my source of power.

HAPPY.

So in true planner girl fashion, I made a plan. Because “A GOAL without a PLAN is just a WISH”.

–          Work at it. It may not be work to some, but on my worst days, it will be.

–          Keep a healthy lifestyle.

–          Kick anxiety’s ass!

–          Go outside. Breathe the fresh air and smell the flowers. Or dance in the rain. There is something special about allowing the earth to heal your soul.

–          Make time for ME. Photography, lettering, writing- anything therapeutic that makes ME HAPPY.

–          Let that shit go! Seriously, just stop holding on to the negative.

–          Get serious about my business. No more slacking! Get shit done!

–          Appreciate the life I have. When you love what you have, you have everything you need.

–          HAVE FUN!

I will focus on the word HAPPY in my planner and add it in whenever I need it. I also plan to post once a month about one thing I did to make me HAPPY. It could be something as small as getting ice cream or something completely out of my comfort zone like taking a road trip. I want to hold myself accountable for sticking to my word and this challenge. But most importantly, I want to be HAPPY.

I also would like to encourage all of you to participate in the One Little Word challenge Ali Edwards has brought to us. It doesn’t have to be a big thing. Just one little word to help inspire all your days. You could write your word down and put it in your wallet to look at randomly. Or write it on your mirror to reflect on every morning. See, simples.

For more inspiration on One Little Word, check out Amanda’s blog to see how she is participating. She is WAAAYYY cooler than I am!

“I believe in pink. I believe that laughing is the best calorie burner. I believe in kissing, kissing a lot. I believe in being strong when everything seems to be going wrong. I believe that happy girls are the prettiest girls. I believe that tomorrow is another day and I believe in miracles.” –Audrey Hepburn

“Your success and happiness lies in you. Resolve to keep happy, and your joy and you shall form an invincible host against difficulties.” –Helen Keller 

52981298_edited