Hand lettering practice sheet printables

I love love love using brush calligraphy! I add it into my planner weekly when writing in fun quotes and important things. I love addressing envelopes for my snail mail with calligraphy and hand lettering. You can do SO much with it.

I’ve always been into lettering since before I could really understand what it was. I used to doodle different ways to write letters and use them in my childhood scrapbooks. I didn’t know it was even a thing until Pinterest came along.

In the past few months I have had requests on Instagram to make a brush pen calligraphy/ hand lettering worksheet. So, here goes nothing…

First and foremost, I am not a good teacher. After creating these and uploading them, I realized I gave no actual instructions in regard to brush strokes and the amount of pressure you’re supposed to apply. I’m horrible. Moving on.

Upstrokes should be thin- very little pressure is applied. Downstrokes should be thick- Push it hard, girl! Unless you don’t want it too thick. Play around with the amount of pressure you apply. My style fluctuates depending on the style I’m looking for. And the loops (UGH THE LOOPS!) are the WORST in the beginning. It’s going to be a thick downstroke and then awkwardly transition to an upstroke. Completely unsmooth. Is that a word?… (It is, I checked.) It is gonna be torture!  Stick with it. The more you practice, the more smooth your transitions will be.

Hand Lettering Practice Sheets Page 1

Hand Lettering Practice Sheets

You don’t have to be perfect or have the prettiest handwriting to be good at this. Everyone’s style is different. My style of writing may not work for you and that’s okay. I’ve literally filled notebooks looking for my style. Just have fun with it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I typically use Tombow Dual Brush Pens and a Pentel Sign Pen Brush Tip but Crayola Super Tips are my new favorite thing! These practice sheets were created using a Tombow brush pen.

xoam

If you use these Free Printables and post on Instagram, please use the hashtag #AliciaMichelleXO. I would love to see yall using them!

One thought on “Hand lettering practice sheet printables

Leave a comment